Safe boating is FUN, boating! Our courses are useful for all boaters – – from the person on the personal watercraft, the fisherman in an outboard, the skipper in a family cruiser, and the sailing enthusiast. Learn from instructors who are well qualified, enthusiastic, and experienced. We encourage your family to attend as a group.
- Partner in Command
- Hurricanes & Boats
- Rules of the Road
- Paddle Smart
- Basic Weather
- Sail Trim
- Basic Coastal Navigation
- How To Use A Chart
- Using VHF/DSC Radio
Topics covered in the public safe-boating courses include:
- boat types
- boat terms
- life preservers
- fire extinguishers
- first aid kits
- aids to navigation
- rules of the road
- adverse conditions
- state & local regulations
- VHF radio
- and more
All public safe boating courses at SPSS meet Florida State license requirements, include a proctored exam, and are approved by NASBLA. Student texts are included and all courses are given at our building on Hyde Park Street in Sarasota. Seminars are targeted to specific boating topics with a two hour format and include valuable take-away guides. Seminars marked (West Marine) are given at their store at 4708 S. Tamiami Trail in Sarasota.
Check out the schedule to the right for dates and times. Cost for the public safe boating course is $45.00.
It’s the law! Anyone born on or after January 1, 1988 who operates a vessel powered by 10 horsepower or more must pass an approved boater safety course and have in his/her possession photographic identification and a boater safety identification card issued by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission. The following operators are exempt:
1) A person licensed by the US Coast Guard as a master of a vessel.
2) A person operating on a private lake or pond.
3) An operator who is accompanied onboard by a person who is at least 18 years old and possesses the required Boating Safet ID Card, provided that person is attendant to and responsible for the safe operation of the vessel.
4) An operator who is accompanied onboard by a person who is exempt from the educational requirements, provided that person is attendant to and responsible for the safe operation of the vessel.
5) A non-resident who has in his or her possession proof that he or she has completed a NASBLA approved boater safety course or equivalency examination from another state.
6) A person who is operating a vessel within 90 days after the purchase of that vessel, provided they have available for inspection aboard that vessel, a bill of sale meeting all requirements as established in Chapter 328.46 (1), Florida Statutes.